Person of Interest: Ms. Cieri

How long have you been at East?

“I have been working as Tosa East’s building sub for three weeks.”

How did you come to work at Tosa east? 

“I am actually originally from New Jersey. I moved to Milwaukee in March. I was a teacher in Jersey and I got my teaching license transferred to Wisconsin so I’m subbing, but I’m also waiting for a job.”

What did you do before you were a Teacher?

“I worked as a pizza maker in a restaurant. I would make pizza and Italian dishes.” 

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

“I wanted to be a teacher. My mom is a teacher, my aunts are all teachers, my grandpa is a teacher, so it’s in my blood.”

What do you like to do in your free time?

“I like to explore Milwaukee. Being that I’m not from here I like to see what’s cool, like going to the flea markets on the weekend, and trying different restaurants”

What are you most passionate about?

“I am most passionate about being a good person.”

Do you get along especially well with any fellow teachers/staff members?

“Everyone is super nice here. It is crazy how nice everyone is and how helpful they are. No one specifically, but honestly everyone. If I’m lost in the hallway someone will come up and ask ‘Hey, do you need directions?’.”

What’s your favorite part about subbing at East?

“I like being a building sub because of the variety of classes I am able to teach. I was the German teacher once and that was completely new to me.”

If you won the lottery what is the first thing you would buy?

“I would buy land up north, and build a cabin. Probably in the Hayward area.”

What is the most interesting fact about you?

“I used to be a competitive dancer for thirteen years, but no one really knows that about me.”